Steve’s Tops of 2012

So, even though (or especially because?) it will piss Ryan off, I’m doing my list a little differently. This is the list of my top things in, or tangentially related to, music from the year 2012. Let’s begin, shall we?

Top Album of 2012
This is a no-brainer, it’s Synthetica by Metric. definitely check out Ryan’s review of it if you haven’t listened yet. It’s spectacular.

Most Predictable Album of 2012
Babel from Mumford & Sons gets the nod here. It sounds pretty much exactly the same as Sigh No More, which is both good and bad.

Most Annoying Song of 2012
Carly Rae Jepsen – “Call Me Maybe

Best Band Return of 2012
Godspeed You! Black Emperor is the obvious choice here. I’m glad they’re making music together again.

Best Band I Discovered in 2012
I know it’s going to be a very cliché choice, but for me, it’s Of Monsters And Men. If you have somehow not heard of them, and like indie bands with both male and female vocals, check them out.

Musical Artist I’d Most Like To Have Intercourse With of 2012
As she has for the past few years running, Jenny Lewis tops the charts here.

Rawr.

Best Live Performance I Saw of 2012
Dave Grohl and the rest of the Foo Fighters were an absolutely brilliant live show. They played with insane energy for over two hours and really proved that rock isn’t dead.

That’s all the arbitrary awards I can think of for this year, so that’s all for now. Hopefully there’s plenty of good music to come in 2013!

Leave a Reply

