Kristen’s Top EIGHT of 2012

I’m hungover. I’m only giving you eight. Ryan is a tyrant. Here’s my list.

-8-

Handwritten

The Gaslight Anthem

2012

Mercury

It took me being bored at work to find this gem streaming for free on NPR, and I’m oh-so-glad I did. I let it repeat at least three times because the first time just blew me away. Perhaps you’ve heard the single “45” on the radio over and over and over again? It’s only one of the many jam-worthy songs on this album. Clearly, I’m the worst for having never listened to this band prior to the release of this NJ native band’s fourth album, Handwritten. But, better late than never.

Best track: “Handwritten”

-7-

Here

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

2012

Rough Trade Records

I enjoyed this album thoroughly. At first, I had my doubts about it. I thought UGH, this is probably going to be another one of those try-too-hard-to-be-indie indie bands. Don’t judge, you guys, because it wasn’t like that at all. The band is an interesting breed of folk and indie rock that just works.

Best track: “Man On Fire”

-6-

What We Saw From The Cheap Seats

Regina Spektor

2012

Spire Records

I still don’t feel this album got the hype it deserved. Regina Spektor is a gust of fresh air to the indie rock scene. I may or may not have danced around like a little bitch when I found out this album was being released. It’s an eclectic mix of mostly new tunes — with some new studio recordings of Spektor’s older songs. I was madly in love with this album.

Best track: “How”

-5-

Little Broken Hearts

Norah Jones

2012

Blue Note

I can’t be the only one who thought this album was RAW. Damn, Norah! I definitely enjoyed the difference from what I’ve heard from this artist in the past.  The song writing was definitely more harsh and deeply emotional. This album is on level with Alanis’ Jagged Little Pill. So note, dudes, don’t mess with Norah Jones.

Best track: “Little Broken Hearts”

-4-

Battle Born

The Killers

2012

Island

Was never a fan of this band and honestly, I didn’t realize it was them on the radio until the DJ said it was. It was a little ’80s mixed in with alternative rock. I didn’t want to enjoy “Miss Atomic Bomb” but I did, and I’m not sorry. This fourth studio album release from The Killers was certainly worth the listen.

Best track: “Runaways”

-3-

Mirage Rock

Band of Horses

2012

Columbia

Ryan reviewed this album (in a compilation cop out) in 2012, so go read that. The fourth studio album by Band of Horses really can do no wrong in my opinion; maybe because I just love this band, or really, because this album is fantastic.

Best track: “Everything’s Gonna Be Undone”

-2-

Babel

Mumford & Sons

2012

Island

This album was featured at number 11 in Rolling Stone’s top 50 albums of the year and with good reason. What a delightful mix of folk and rock on one disc! As a first-time listener of Mumford & Sons this year, I have to say, I enjoyed this album immensely.

Best track: “I Will Wait”

-1-

Port of Morrow

The Shins

2012

Columbia/Aural Apothecary

I’m a huge Shins fan, so no surprise here. Thanks for the killer tunes this year!

Best track: “It’s only life”

SHIT! I forgot Uno! Dos! and Tre!  Lolz, just kidding, Green Day lost my respect this year with that rubbish.

3 Responses to “Kristen’s Top EIGHT of 2012”

  1. Seriously? Port of Morrow? Green Day’s albums were better.

  2. […] Updated Whenever We Damn Well Feel Like It « Kristen’s Top EIGHT of 2012 […]

  3. I actually enjoy half of your list.

Leave a Reply

