Steve’s Ten Song Shuffle

So I had to do this a little differently than everyone else, due to the fact that I didn’t have my music library with me. Instead, I used Pandora’s QuickMix station.

1. “Fight the Future” – Four Year Strong

For this album, FYS parted ways with their keyboardist and became a traditional four-piece. That doesn’t really change their lyrical stylings much, and the song is about keeping your head up and staying positive in a negative world.

2. “I Won’t Hold You Back” – Toto

So this isn’t as good as another Toto song with “Hold” in the title, but it’s still awesome. It’s Toto, that should say enough.

3. “Lessons” – Rush

A bit of a Rush deep cut here off 2112, “Lessons” is a bit different from their popular stuff. If I’m honest, I think that’s what I like most about it. Alex Lifeson’s vamping and Neil Peart’s whatever-the-drumming-equivalent-is are awesome.

4. “Everybody Wants Some!!” – Van Halen

Van Halen at their absolute best: DLR singing about sex, Eddie’s brilliant guitar playing, and even the punctuation in the title.  If you don’t know this song, I pity you.

5. “Here I Go Again” – Whitesnake

“I’ve made up my mind, I ain’t wasting’ no more time” talking about this song, because you should know all there is to say about it already.

6. “Our House” – Madness

This is a classic ’70s song that you really should be aware of.  I think everybody had a friend (or it was themselves) who always had company over at their house, and this song describes that house.

7. “Kill You” – Eminem

Old School Em on this song: violent, vulgar, great vocal stylings, and lyrics about his family. This song is a perfect example of the shock value that made Eminem a household name in the ’90s.

8. “After the Storm” – Mumford and Sons

First, I just want to say that I think M&S are good but overrated. With that out of the way, this song follows their typical style of starting slow, then increasing the intensity of the music with the intensity of the vocals. It’s not a bad song, but nothing makes it great to me.

9. “Just What I Needed” – The Cars

I honestly don’t much care for this song. I like The Cars, but I just can’t seem to get into this track. Of course, I’ll find it stuck in my head for a whole day because it’s that damn catchy.

10. “Run-around” – Blues Traveler

Yet another song that damn near everyone knows, mainly due to being grossly overplayed on the radio in the ’90s. The main thing I have to say about this song is the juxtaposition is interesting. It’s an upbeat tune, but with depressing words. Also, nearly every lyric is or refers to a cliché.

One Response to “Steve’s Ten Song Shuffle”

  1. Van Halen and Whitesnake on one list, gross.

Leave a Reply

