Favorite Albums Per Decade

Or rather, ryan’s favorite albums per decade.  So, tonight, I’m trying something different (maybe because I’m lazy, but even still, this involved a lot of work).  I’ve decided that instead of a normal album review, you will be treated to a list.  Of my favorite album of each decade (starting in the 50’s).  Make note: favorite album.  Not best. Not most influentialFavorite.

I’ll probably wind up doing what I consider the best albums for each decade in a week or so.  But for today, these are my favorites.  The only criteria that has to be met is that I have to really like each album.  That’s it.  I am not saying that these are the most influential of each decade, and I’m sure that many others can be known for honor.  But these are records that I love, ones that I can listen to numerous times, ones that create an amazing listening experience.  Most of all, these are ones that I’ll gladly suggest others to go listen to.

With that in mind, let’s begin:

1950’s:

Miles Davis – Kind of Blue

This album is known as Davis’ best-selling album, as well as (and this is important) the best-selling jazz album of all time.  And there is a legitimate reason for that.  Every song is amazing to listen to.  The way Davis’ and his band arrange these songs is almost as interesting as the phrasing of the melodies.  I am not a huge jazz fan, but there’s something about Miles Davis, and this album in particular, that makes for a wonderful listening experience.  Also, look for this review in the next few weeks, I really feel like speaking more about it.

1960’s:

The Beatles – A Hard Day’s Night

Big surprise here.  Seeing as how this was my first review for this site anyway.  I’ve already said a lot about this album, so I’ll just restrain myself to saying this: although this isn’t their most influential album, A Hard Day’s Night is pure entertainment and shows the four developing at an increasing rate.

1970’s:

Elvis Costello and the Attractions – This Year’s Model

Costello has a great ear for melodies and musicality.  His songs on This Year’s Model portray a sometimes cynical, but always lyrical take on his views.  With songs like “Pump it Up,” “(I Don’t Want to Go to) Chelsea,” and “You Belong to Me,” this album has great lyrics and a great attitude.

1980’s:

Van Halen – Women and Children First

Ok, this may be cheating, since this album came out in 1980.  But it’s my favorite VH album.  The songs were great, and Eddie’s guitar playing was never better, as far as I’m concerned.  I’ll always love Van Halen, and especially this album.  It’s been the one that I’ve listened to the most.  And, let’s be honest: most of the popular music that came out during the ’80’s sucked hardcore.  Not everything, but a lot.  So, this is really a no-brainer for me.

1990’s:

Oasis – (What’s the Story) Morning Glory?

As I mentioned yesterday, this album just was awarded the best British album of the past thirty years – a huge honor.  And it makes sense.  This was before Oasis started copying themselves.  Many of their lyrics were fresh.  Their sound was a nice cross of acoustic and electric.  And I still don’t believe they’ve written a better song than “Champagne Supernova” yet.

2000’s:

Wilco – Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Again, another no brainer.  Tweedy and his band completely blew me away with this album.  It encapsulates America without trying to.  The story behind it is amazing, but the music is the main part.  The band attacked the songs like never before, deconstructing and then building songs back up again.  Lastly, Tweedy’s lyrics are poetry.

Leave a Reply

